Pharmacy guide
Boots Mounjaro: Prices, Discounts and How It Compares
Boots sells Mounjaro (tirzepatide) privately through Boots Online Doctor, with collection from a Boots store or Royal Mail delivery. It is the best-known name on the high street, which is not the same as the best price. This guide explains how the Boots route works, what discounts exist, what Boots has and has not stated about maintenance, and how to check its checkout total against every other verified UK pharmacy before you commit.
Key facts
- Boots prescribes Mounjaro privately through Boots Online Doctor, a service regulated by the Care Quality Commission, with dispensing by Boots pharmacies registered with the General Pharmaceutical Council.
- New customers pay Boots’ full listed price. There is no new-customer discount code. Boots offers a 10% discount on repeat weight-loss prescriptions for existing customers, and press reports describe a Vitality partnership giving members up to 25% off through Boots Online Doctor.
- Boots does not price match. The Boots checkout total for each dose is shown alongside every other verified pharmacy on the Monj price list, which is ordered by lowest total price.
- Delivery is by Royal Mail, or you can collect in store, which is the fastest option and the main reason many people choose Boots.
- Boots has not stated a maintenance BMI floor or a time limit to Monj. Ask before you start if you plan to continue at a lower weight.
How to get Mounjaro from Boots
The private route is Boots Online Doctor. You complete an online assessment, a prescriber (Boots uses doctors, pharmacist independent prescribers and nurse prescribers) reviews it, and if you meet the licence criteria a prescription is issued and dispensed by a Boots pharmacy. Under General Pharmaceutical Council guidance updated on 4 February 2025, an online prescriber must verify your weight, height and BMI independently rather than take a questionnaire on trust, so expect to provide evidence.
The licence criteria are the same at Boots as everywhere else: a BMI of 30 or more, or 27 or more with a weight-related condition, with lower thresholds for some ethnic backgrounds under NICE guidance. Our BMI requirements guide sets them out. Boots is also an NHS pharmacy, so if you qualify for Mounjaro on the NHS under NICE TA1026 (a much narrower group, phased in from mid-2025) your NHS prescription can be dispensed at a Boots store; that is a separate route with no private cost.
What Boots charges for Mounjaro
Boots publishes a price per pen for each dose on the Boots Online Doctor site, and the price rises as the dose goes up. Monj does not repeat those figures here because they change; instead the Boots checkout total for every dose, including delivery where charged, sits in the live comparison table beside every other verified pharmacy. Prices there are re-checked against the Boots checkout on a rolling schedule and the table shows when they were last checked.
Two things are consistently true of the Boots price. First, Boots is rarely the cheapest option for a first order, because most online pharmacies compete on introductory offers and Boots does not. Second, Boots’ price includes in-store collection, which for some people is worth paying for. The only way to decide is to look at the row for your dose.
Compare before you commit. Open the Mounjaro discount price list, find your dose, and read across. Boots is listed by its checkout total like everyone else, and commission never affects the order.
Boots Mounjaro discounts
New customers
None. Boots does not run a new-customer discount code or a referral scheme for weight-loss medicines, and it does not accept third-party codes. If a site offers you a “Boots Mounjaro discount code”, it is not one Boots has published.
Repeat prescriptions
Boots states that existing weight-loss customers receive 10% off repeat prescriptions after their first purchase. This is applied by Boots at checkout for returning customers rather than by a code.
Vitality members
Boots has partnered with the health insurer Vitality to offer its members a discount of up to 25% on weight-loss injections bought through Boots Online Doctor, with the size of the discount linked to the member’s activity points, according to reports in The Times and The Independent. It applies only to Vitality members through private health insurance or workplace schemes. If you are one, it changes the comparison, so factor it in when you read the price table.
Price matching
Boots does not price match on Mounjaro. Pharmacies that do are marked on the price match guide.
Delivery and collection
Boots dispatches by Royal Mail, and you can have the parcel redirected to a local post office or parcel shop through Royal Mail’s own options. Alternatively you can collect from a Boots store, which is usually the faster route and avoids the temperature-control worries of a parcel sitting on a doorstep. Delivery covers England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. Mounjaro pens should be refrigerated before first use, so if you choose delivery, be in to receive it; our guide to how Mounjaro should be delivered explains what to check on arrival.
Maintenance and stopping
The licence sets starting criteria only; it does not tell a prescriber to stop when your BMI falls below 30 or 27. Each provider sets its own policy on how low it will prescribe to, and some apply a time limit. Boots has not stated a maintenance BMI floor or a time limit to Monj, so it does not appear in our maintenance pharmacies directory. If keeping weight off matters to you, ask Boots Online Doctor for its policy in writing before your first order, and read our section on what happens when a prescription is stopped.
How Boots compares
| Factor | Boots | What to check elsewhere |
|---|---|---|
| First-order price | Full price, no introductory offer | Most online pharmacies discount the first order; see the discount list |
| Repeat price | 10% off repeat prescriptions | Some pharmacies offer subscription or loyalty pricing; compare the ongoing price, not the first one |
| Collection | In-store collection available | Online-only pharmacies deliver only |
| Price match | No | A few pharmacies price match; see the guide |
| Maintenance policy | Not stated to Monj | Directory lists pharmacies that have stated a policy |
| Regulation | CQC-regulated service, GPhC-registered pharmacies | Check any pharmacy on the GPhC register before ordering |
The honest summary: Boots trades on trust and convenience, and charges for it. If you value collecting from a store you know, that can be worth the difference. If you are paying month after month, the difference compounds, and the price table is where you find out how much.
Switching from Boots to another pharmacy
You are not tied to Boots. Ask Boots Online Doctor for a treatment summary showing your current dose and start date, then apply to a new provider as an existing patient; most will assess you on your treatment history rather than the starting thresholds. Our switching pharmacy guide covers the steps and timing so you do not miss a dose.
Common questions
Does Boots have a Mounjaro discount code?
No. Boots does not publish a new-customer code or run a referral scheme for weight-loss medicines. Existing customers get 10% off repeat prescriptions, applied at checkout, and Vitality members can get up to 25% off through the Boots partnership.
Is Boots the cheapest place to buy Mounjaro?
Rarely for a first order, because Boots does not discount new customers and most online pharmacies do. Check the Monj discount price list for your dose; Boots is listed by its checkout total alongside every other verified pharmacy.
Can I collect Mounjaro from a Boots store?
Yes. After a Boots Online Doctor prescription you can choose in-store collection, which is usually faster than Royal Mail delivery and keeps the pen refrigerated until you pick it up.
Will Boots keep prescribing Mounjaro once my BMI is under 30?
Boots has not stated a maintenance BMI floor or a time limit to Monj. The licence does not require stopping at any BMI, so this is Boots’ own policy. Ask for it in writing before you start.
Can I get Mounjaro from Boots on the NHS?
If you qualify under NICE TA1026 and your GP or specialist service prescribes it, the NHS prescription can be dispensed at a Boots pharmacy. That is separate from the private Boots Online Doctor route and has no private cost, but NHS eligibility is much narrower.
Sources
- Boots Online Doctor, weight-loss treatment pages and terms, checked 25 August 2026.
- General Pharmaceutical Council. Guidance for registered pharmacies providing pharmacy services at a distance, including on the internet, updated 4 February 2025.
- Care Quality Commission. Provider register, Boots Online Doctor.
- National Institute for Health and Care Excellence. Tirzepatide for managing overweight and obesity (TA1026), December 2024.
- The Independent, reporting The Times: Boots and Vitality partnership offering up to 25% off weight-loss injections through Boots Online Doctor.
Monj is an independent price information service operated by Medstack Ltd. It does not sell, prescribe or supply medicines and does not give medical advice. Monj is not affiliated with Boots. Prices and offers change; confirm the final price at checkout.